About La Salle University

In 1990, the De La Salle Brothers agreed to assist in the academic supervision of the school with Brother Martin Simpson, FSC, as consultant. Bachelor of Science in Geodetic Engineering received government recognition in 1991. With the assistant of the Brothers, the school has been meeting and complying with the requirements of Philippine Accrediting Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities since 1992.

From 1993 to 1994, Brother Martin Simpson, FSC was the President. Under his watch, Bachelor of Science in Accountancy received government recognition. On May 17, 1994, the school was formally turned over to the De La Salle Brothers and was named Immaculate Conception College - La Salle. Dr. Emma A. Villaseran was the Acting President up to March 31, 1995. On April 1, 1995, Dr. Villaseran became the first lay woman President of a Lasallian school.

During her term of office, the following prgrams were recognized by the government: Master in Business Administration, and Master of Arts in Teaching Filipino in 1995; and, Master in Education (formerly Master in Teaching) and Doctor of Philosophy in Education in 1996.

Br. Benildo Feliciano, FSC, who was the chairman of the Board of Trustees at the time of turn-over, took over as President in recognition during his term: Bachelor of Science in Computer Science in 1997, Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering and Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering in March 2003.

Br. Narciso S. Erguiza, Jr., FSC was elected President in June 2003. On July 10, 2006, the college was conferred university status by the Commission on Higher Education (CHED). The name was changed from Immaculate Conception College - La Salle to La Salle University. Br. Jun became the first President of La Salle University during his fourth year in the office. The following programs received government recognition during his watch: Night High School and Hotel and Restaurant Management (TVET PROGRAMS) Certificate of TVET Program in 2005; Bachelor of Science in Information Technology, Bachelor of Science in Criminology, Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, Bachelor of Science in Nursing in 2007 and, Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering and Bachelor of Science in Communications and Electronics Engineering in 2008.

Br. Jaime M. Dalumpines, FSC, was installed President of La Salle University, Ozamiz City on May 15, 2010.

La Salle University enjoys a reputation of academic excellence as a PAASCU Level III accredited institution, Programs under the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Education and Commerce have enjoyed Level III accreditation since 2008 and have been re-surveyed and re-accredited in September 2013. Integrated School Basic Education programs are PAASCU Level II re-accredited until 2016.

With the University's continued quest for excellence, other programs like the Civil Engineering, Computer Engineering and Computer Science enjoyed its Level 1 PAASCU accreditation. Moreover, Nursing, Hospitality Management/Hotel and Restaurant Management, Information Technology and Department of Criminal Justice Education are off for its formal PAASCU survey in 2016, April.

With a rich 86-year history in four traditions - Jesuits, Recollets, Columbans, and De La Salle, La Salle University stands proud of the thousands of alumni and alumnae who have assumed leadership roles in the church and community in Ozamiz City and in many parts of the country and the world.